Virago is to publish the UK edition of Radical Hope: Letters of Love and Dissent in Dangerous Times, which will be published on 2nd May 2017.

Meanwhile, the New Statesman reflects on how old books help us deal with new — and frightening — times.

This will come as no surprise to dedicated bookworms, but a study by Durham University has found that fictional characters follow many readers around long after they’ve turned the last page.

Antiquarian books worth more than £2 million have been stolen in a “unique” heist by a gang who dodged security by abseiling into a London warehouse.

New Books

Out today in the US (and on 23rd February in the UK) is British author Jennifer Ryan’s delightful epistolary novel The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir, set at the beginning of World War II and perfect for fans of both Downton Abbey and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Katie Fforde’s new novel, A Summer At Sea, out just last week, is now at number 4 on the UK book chart.

The Guardian reviews Joanna Bourke’s new bookThe Story of Pain: from Prayer to Painkillers.

Podcasts

British perfumer Jo Malone is the guest on the latest episode of American podcast Just The Right Book. She discusses her recent memoir, My Story.

On this week’s A Good Read, author Lionel Shriver and comedian Mae Martin recommend some of their favourite books.

Advertisements