Welcome to the Brit Lit podcast! I’m excited to bring you this next project. I’ll be talking about all things books from a British perspective and as part of that I’ll be interviewing all kinds of people from the world of UK publishing.

You can listen to the episode here, subscribe on iTunes here, or on Stitcher here.

My very first guest is Jennifer Ryan, who wrote one of my favourite novels of 2017, The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. It’s an epistolary novel set in an English village in World War II, and yes, if you’re suspecting it might be perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, you’d be right.

If  you liked the first episode, it’d be really helpful if you could rate and review it on Apple podcasts or wherever else you found it. And if you’re part of the British book world in any way and you’re interested in being a guest on the show, please fill in this form.

And in the meantime — here’s a list of all the books mentioned on the show.

Me. You. A Diary, by Dawn French

Thinking Out Loud: Love, Grief and Being Mum and Dad, by Rio Ferdinand

Finding My Virginity, by Richard Branson

Mary’s Household Tips and Tricks: Your Guide to Happiness in the Home, by Mary Berry

Nadiya’s Bake Me a Festive Story: Thirty festive recipes and stories for children, by Nadiya Hussain

Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

Mrs Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf

The Stranger, by Albert Camus

Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh

Hamlet, by Shakespeare

The Diaries of Nella Last, by Nella Last

Year of Wonder, by Clemency Burton-Hill

When They Go Low, We Go Highby Philip Collins

The Little Library Cookbookby Kate Young

The Sparsholt Affair, by Alan Hollinghurst

The Party, by Elizabeth Day

(A note on my links: they take you to Amazon UK, and I get a few pence per sale at no extra cost to you if you click them and buy from there, which will help me make this podcast viable long-term. But better than Amazon, who are, let’s be honest, not the greatest, is Blackwells or Waterstones, or, even better, your local independent bookshop. If you live in the US or elsewhere further afield, you can find UK books at Book Depository (also owned by Amazon) at a good price and with no postage cost, or you can buy them from Amazon US, or, even better, an independent bookshop.)

Advertisements